Present Structure of Indian Banking System

Present Structure of Indian Banking System

Reserve Bank of India (RBI) is the primary bank of the country and all Banks in India are required to follow the guidelines declared by RBI. The present banking structure includes:


=>> Currently there are 27 Public Sector Banks includes (19 Nationalized  Bank + SBI (not a nationalized bank) + 5  Subsidiaries of SBI + IDBI + Bharatiya Mahila Bank )

==>> State Bank of India and its 5 Associate Banks, together called State Bank Group.

5 Associate Banks are:

  1. State Bank of Travancore (SBT),
  2. State Bank of Patiala (SBP),
  3. State Bank of Hyderabad (SBH),
  4. State Bank of Mysore (SBM)
  5. State Bank of Bikaner and Jaipur (SBBJ).

==>> Regional Rural Banks (RRBs):  The numbers of branches of RRBs are 17856 as on 31 March 2013 covering 635 districts throughout the India. Notably, currently, there are 664 districts in India.

==>> Development Banks: These categories include Industrial Finance Corporation of India (IFCI) established in 1948, National Bank for Agriculture & Rural Development (NABARD) established in 1982, Export-Import Bank of India (EXIM Bank) established in 1982, and Small Industries Development Bank of India (SIDBI) established on 2nd April, 1990. These are included in Public sector banks.



=>> Private Banks and Foreign Banks  : These categories combine Private Banks and Foreign Banks in India. Currently, there are 23 banks serving in India in this category.

=>> District Central Co-Operative Banks in India: As on 1st April 2016, there are 371 District Central Cooperative Banks in India with maximum number of these banks are located in U.P. (50) and Madhya Pradesh (38).