The ‘Reserve Bank of India is India’s Central Banking Institution, which controls the Monetary Policy of the Indian Rupee.

==>> Here are the useful information about RBI
The position is currently held by Raghuram Rajan, who took over from D. Subbarao on 4 September 2013. Benegal Rama Rau ,the bank’s 4th governor, served the longest term on the office(7 years 142 days).

• The Reserve Bank Of India was established 1 april 1935.

  • RBI was nationalized in -1949
  • Also known as Banker of banks

• It is a member bank of the Asian Clearing Union.

• The Governor of RBI is Raghuram Rajan

There are 4 Deputy Governors

  1. H R Khan,
  2. Dr Urjit Patel,
  3. Dr K C Chakrabarty
  4. Anand Sinha


• The Reserve Bank of India has four zonal offices.It has 19 regional offices at most state capitals and at a few major cities in India.its Main Headquarter in MUMBAI.

==>> Main functions of RBI

  • Regulator and supervisor of the financial system.
  • Managerial of exchange control
  • Issuer of currency.

==>> Institutions established by RBI and Head Office

1. Deposit Insurance and Credit Guarantee Corporation-Mumbai

2. National Housing Bank -New Delhi
3. National Bank for Agricultural and Rural Development-Mumbai
4. Securities Trading Corporation of India -Mumbai
5. Bharatiya Reserve Bank Note Mudran Private Limited-Bangalore
6. Industrial and Development Bank of India – Mumbai